Gloves of Gold

The Rawlings Golden Glove Award is awarded annually to one player of each fielding position in both the National and American Leagues. The winners of this prestigious award are those who exhibited outstanding individual fielding performances throughout the season. Since 1957, Rawlings has picked 18 commemorative selections for this honor except for 3 years. Who votes for this award? The managers of coaches for each team; though they cannot vote for their own team. Additionally, a sabermetric research organization goes through the fielding stats to provide the top prospects to be voted for.

This year, the ‘Stros have three players up for the award. Pitcher Dallas Keuchel, left fielder Colby Rasmus and right fielder George Springer are among the finalists at their position in the American League.

Kuechel is the only pitcher in franchise history to win a Gold Glove (2015). His numbers were not nearly what they were last year due to his injury and pitching less innings but he was still tied for the AL lead with Masahiro Tanaka with seven defensive runs saved. R.A. Dickey (Blue Jays) and Justin Verlander (Tigers) are the other two finalists at this position.

Only two outfielders from the Astros history have won this award. Rasmus, ranked third in left field, didn’t commit an error in 186 chances and had 13 outfield assists saving 14 runs. Springer, ranked third in right field, only had two errors in 322 chances and had 12 outfield assists saving 5 runs. Mookie Betts (Red Sox) and Adam Eaton (White Sox) are the other two finalists in right field. Brett Gardner (Yankees) and Alex Gordon (Royals) are the other two finalists in left field.

The link in the picture will take you to see the rest of the finalists. The winners are to be announced November 8th on ESPN.